Working @ South Pole Station?

Antarctica Forums Forums Antarctic Memories Message Board Discussion topics Working @ South Pole Station?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    jpan18
    Participant

Hello everyone! Recently stumbled across this GOLDMINE of information and so thankful to everyone who’s shared their knowledge.

A little about me…

I’m 28 and currently work in TV production in LA. I have been fascinated with the Antarctic continent since my early teens and am now starting my journey to fulfilling that desire to live/work “on the ice”! Since very little of my production/camerawork skills are transferable to what’s needed in Antarctica, I am hoping to join the kitchen (prep cook) or steward (janitorial) staff at South Pole Station.

I’m a complete newbie in my journey to finding employment on the ice, so I have a few questions that I couldn’t find the exact answers to in my research so far. Forgive my naïveté.

1) I’m a Canadian citizen and a Green Card holder (permanent resident) in the US. I believe South Pole Station is a US-owned station, does that mean only US citizens are eligible for employment? I currently work in the US with my Green Card. I am in the early process of getting US citizenship, but I’m not sure how long it will take for the process to be complete.

2) Are there specific months that are known to be the “hiring season” for employment? I read Bill’s blog at http://www.southpolestation.com/trivia/wo.html and noticed the ratio of new employees to veterans are very low and I imagine the competition for those new slots are very high. Any word of advice from the vets as to what the employers are looking for in the service positions (kitchen/janitorial) to help me stand above the crowd?

Thanks for reading!!
    Jaden

jpan18
    Participant

Hi Sciencetech,

Thanks for your response! I didn’t realize the attachments would just pop up like that! I should amend that….