Thoughts?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    jpan18
    Participant

Hi everyone,

As I mentioned in my previous thread, I’m a newbie to the world of Antarctic employment, but am hoping to scale this steep learning curve quickly. I have a rough plan in place and wanted to get any feedback from those who have worked at Amundsen-Scott before.

1) I’m on track to obtain my US Citizenship by the end of 2012 (I currently an a legal US resident with a green card)

2) Assuming the open positions will be the similar for 2013, my first choice would be to apply as a Carpenter Helper through PAE (http://curaportal.mindscope.com/paegov03055cw/Aspx/JobDetails.aspx?Job_ID=10244), 2nd/3rd would be Prep Cook/Steward through Ganayoo.

3) I have not had any meaningful employment in any of the 3 fields (with the exception of shop class, fast food, and being hired by a private party for cleaning services), HOWEVER, I hope I can gain some carpentry skills through a great program at Habitat for Humanity. They offer a training program that “covers hand tools and power tools, framing, siding, drywall, installing interior trim (case and base), caulking and painting.” (http://www.habitatla.org/get-involved/volunteer/construction-training/cornerstone-training/) I am hoping to maybe take some carpentry classes at my local technical college as well as continue to volunteer with Habitat to put my skills to work.

And onto my cornucopia of questions…

Has anyone worked in any of these 3 positions before? Did you have relevant experience prior to working in the position? Do you think gaining skills through Habitat and/or a technical college is enough in lieu of paid employment in the carpentry field? The job descriptions don’t specify start dates or the length of the contract. I would like to work during a Austral Winter, but ideally would like to be employed for the whole year. Is this a possibility?