New Cool Antarctica Related Discovery Where I Live

Antarctica Forums Forums Antarctic Memories Message Board Discussion topics New Cool Antarctica Related Discovery Where I Live

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    TheORKINMan
    Participant

So as an Antarctic hopeful this was really cool to me. I graduated from and am currently attending Florida State for a second degree while working for the state government. As a state employee I get to go to school for free. The current degree I’m working on is a CS degree but it’s completely online so I no longer visit the interior of campus at all. It’s been 5-6 years since I’ve been in this area. Anywho all of the STEM degree departments are located near each other with many colocated in buildings. I needed to get a CS Department signature on a document so during my lunch break today I stop by. I’m looking at a map to refamiliarize myself and see a street labeled “Antarctic Way”. That is definitely new and this particular street was not named as such the last time I was on campus so I’m wondering what prompted that. It’s on the way to where I need to go so as I’m walking by my jaw just about hit the floor. The old meteorology lab that I used to walk by every day is now labeled “Antarctic Marine Geology Research Facility”

I now have an NSF associated Antarctic research facility housing tons of cores and other fun stuff here in town. I’ve already fired off an email to the program administrator asking if they need a volunteer CS student with programming and IT skills to assist with any projects they are working on 😀

thepooles98
    Keymaster

Wow, talk about a cool into to the program. You may get down yet and do it as a science person. They often get to go to places we never would get to go. That’s the upside. Downside is way less pay.

TheORKINMan
    Participant