Fresh water

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

The last I read on this topic, you could only take two minute showers twice a week. With the new station, has potable water become more plentiful? Or are you still living under those restrictions?

Thanks!

Angie

Anonymous

Hi Angie… I’m a newbie and have never been on the ice, but I have been reading a whole lot lately.

My understanding of the 2min shower line was that 1) it applies to south pole station only, and 2) it’s only during the summer season when the population goes up.

Someone please correct me if I’m grossly mistaken.

Sciencetech
    Keymaster

You’re right. It’s a South Pole Station restriction only. Two minute showers, twice a week.

The other stations have more water and usually don’t have usage restrictions.

g

Anonymous

OK, thanks. I’m sorry about it, Polies! 😀 I think that’s one restriction that would really make me nuts.

Angie

Been There

Angie,

If limited showers would drive you nuts I hope you are not considering working in the program. Due to the nature of the location there are many restrictions. Some folks don’t understand the basic reason for the restrictions is to ensure the workforce is safe, both due work hours and equally important, due off time.

Been There

Anonymous

Chiming in again. While I’ve got no experience on the ice, I am an engineer with some experience in water desalination, so I can tell you that’s not a simple or cheap way to make potable water.

The process is really cost prohibitive in all but the driest of areas on this planet. If you think oil is a valuable commodity – you should see the security around some of the desal facilities in the middle east!

Anyway – the problem with these membrane based processes is that when you need twice as much water… you generally need twice as much membrane (therefore twice as big of a facility!).