Continuing Ed. hours for EMT's

Antarctica Forums Forums Antarctic Memories Message Board Discussion topics Continuing Ed. hours for EMT's

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Big V

Thanks to everyone for the helpful info about the sunglasses.  I thought of another question.  I’m an EMT and am wondering if there is any way for me to obtain continuing education hours while at McMurdo.  I’m working in the kitchen so I won’t be using my EMT skills for my job.  Will I be allowed to volunteer in the clinic?  Or, does the Fire Dept. offer medical classes that I would be allowed to attend?  Thanks again!
    V

thepooles98
    Keymaster

I can’t answer anything about that. Sharon or Chris, if you are still around can you give any advice
    mike

will
    Keymaster

I’m pretty sure not, as no one is hired as an EMT, only firefighters and paramedics.  The SAR, search and rescue, team has their own training.  No state EMT association would have been asked to sanction such credit.
    Mike, I’m not the Sharon you think – I’m the galley slave turned shuttle driver, retired nurse practitioner.  Lorie knows me.

turbotim66

Hey Big V
    You can ask at the fire house and see if they would mind letting you know when they were having medical training classes. then it would be between your boss and you if you could make that time. I worked for the fire house for 2 summers and 3 winters, the last 2 as a LT w/o02, When I was there there was no problem attending class just so long as you were not disruptive. I still go to the occasional training even though I dont work for them anymore, I like to keep my certs up also. The antarctic fire dept is a member of the colorado firefighters association, so all training is accepted.   laters Tim

will
    Keymaster

[font=Arial:eapcsxay]Hey tim good to hear from you, hows your arm[/font:eapcsxay]
    [font=Arial:eapcsxay]Chris Post[/font:eapcsxay]