Computer Science in Antarctica

Antarctica Forums Forums Antarctic Memories Message Board Discussion topics Computer Science in Antarctica

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    TheORKINMan
    Participant

I’m sure you guys hear this a lot. I’d really like to spend at least one Antarctic summer at one of the stations down there. My work experience is primarily in networking. I have a Bachelors in Political Science and am currently working on a second Bachelors in computer science. I am Security+ certified and am studying for CEH(Certified Ethical Hacker) certification. I am FEMA ICS-100 and 200 certified as well. I currently work for a network operations center for my state’s government but have been told by my boss he’d give me unpaid leave if I ever got a chance to go.

My work experience is about 3 and 1/2 years of networking dealing primarily with voice and data telecommunications and my Comp Sci degree is mostly C/C++ programming this far. I’m not sure how in demand a comp sci or network technician would be but any of you who may have connections at Raytheon or have been to Antarctica have any thoughts as to whether I would have a decent shot at landing a job down there or even if they even have a need for people with my skill set in such a remote place.

Mradyfist

We’ve got one network engineer at South Pole, and I think McMurdo has three or four. If you’ve got work experience in a NOC I’d say apply – there’s a good chance you can snag a job. The network engineer at Pole is generally a 1-year contract, so keep that in mind; this is good news for you because it means there’s a lot of turnover in network engineer positions (and I mean a lot, I’m not sure that we’ve had a returnee for 5 or 6 years). It also means that you’d need to plan on leaving for a year, from October through October.