Any jobs left?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    gosouth
    Participant

This is my 5th year applying for contract work in Antarctica and once again it looks like a season is slipping away from me. I feel like if I could just sit down and talk with a hiring manager I’d easily get a job – or at least after 5 years of trying… 🙂 But since that is not possible, how do I get anyone’s attention so that my information rises to the top of the huge stacks of applications? Perhaps here? Yes, doubtful, but in the spirit of trying everything here I am.

Very quickly, I have a master’s degree in Mechanical Engineering, 15 years of experience as a Mechanical Engineer in a corporate context, and have volunteered for the last 3.5 years with Engineers Without Borders including 5 trips to the remote Panamanian jungle to implement a clean drinking water and health education initiative and twice high in the Peruvian Andes to implement an irrigation project.

In short, I’ve applied for many jobs (59 at last count) – from shoveling snow to managing people. At this late stage in the process I’d happily be an alternate so that I could get PQ’ed and then be able to fill most any last minute opening very quickly.

So how about it? Can anybody help me out?

skua77
    Keymaster

That’s certainly an impressive resume! As for what is happening, it’s hard to say. A couple of things are going on–one being that the station populations are shrinking–due to budget cuts, lack of major construction or science projects, and what seems to be a (not unwelcome) look by management to streamline things and make them more efficient. What that means is that there is less room for new folks (vs those returning) to break in to the program.